top of page

S.A.C. Challenge number II - story song


OK, so I don't really write story songs...my stuff is more random words, and personal phrases. But this time I need a story, a conflict, and a resolution.

So, I had an idea about high and low... two different characters with similar flaws, both looking for something.

I wrote this in the middle of the night like a poem, and then massaged into something I could sing. What I love about this 4 x 4 challenge is how its forcing me to think differently about lyrics, and do they make sense. The imposed deadline is actually pretty cool...it kicks the daylights out of procrastination. You gotta get to work, get writing and recording.

So here is my Challenge II song; Trade Places.

Lyrics

Trade places – words and music David Shackleton 2016

From up here the world looks small

When I'm gone what will they think?

Living a life that's taking its toll

Is it too late for me?

He looks down on the street, and listens

Who sings this melody?

It sounds like a song that's honest & true

That's something I'd like to be

Chorus

Let me trade places with you

You don't know what I'm going through

I wish you were here & I was you

I'd like to trade places with you

The busker plays till a quarter to 3

I am so tired of living on the street

I'll make enough for something to eat

Got to find myself a job

His fingers glide over worn down frets

Wishes life was easier but has no regrets

Thought he saw something & looks up to the sky

Hope he's not learning to fly

Chorus

Bridge

Looks down at the street and takes off his shoes

If he steps off the edge, he'll be free

The guitar player watches as he walks up

The man with no shoes

I saw you up there working it out

Sometimes it hard to choose

I don't have much, but that’s OK

You look like you have it all

I like you better on solid ground

Instead of watching you fall

Chorus


bottom of page